In order to develop and maintain our reputation as a best-in-class contractor in each of the markets we serve, EMS and our personnel maintain a wide assortment of certifications, from regulatory training and industry-specific training to qualifications with government agencies, safety consortiums and regulatory boards. As our customers continue to increase the safety and certification qualifications required of their contractors, EMS is committed to meeting and exceeding those requirements. Along with the various safety training certifications noted on the previous page, EMS also maintains the below certifications and credentials.

Oil Spill Removal Organization (OSRO) Certification

EMS maintains a Class V OSRO Classification throughout its operating area. In response to the regulatory requirements established by Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA90), the Oil Spill Removal Organization (OSRO) classification process was developed to facilitate the preparation of vessel and facility response plans.

The OSRO classification process provides standard guidelines by which the Coast Guard and plan developers can evaluate an OSRO’s potential to respond to and recover oil spills of various sizes. Classifications are based upon minimum equipment amounts and response time standards outlined in the Coast Guard’s OSRO Classification Guidelines.

Small Business Enterprise (SBE) Certification

EMS is a certified Small Business Enterprise (SBE). This classification can be helpful to prime contractors in satisfying contract goals and requirements.

ISNetworld, Avetta, PEC Premier and CCS Certifications

EMS is an approved contractor with ISNetworld (ISN), Avetta, PEC Premier and CCS. These contractor screening consortiums connect corporations with safe, reliable contractors in capital-intensive industries. They collect ongoing conformance information from contractors/ suppliers, verify its accuracy and report the results to owners/clients.

e-RAILSAFE Certification

A large percentage of EMS field personnel receive e-RAILSAFE certification. The purpose of the e-RAILSAFE program is to improve the security of railroad employees, operations and facilities. As part of these efforts, designated railroad contractors are required to comply with the program, which includes:

  • Personnel screening
  • Compliance awareness and testing
  • Workplace credentialing

Storage Tank Installation/Removal Certification

EMS personnel maintain storage tank installation/removal certifications in the following states:

  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • West Virginia

Some states such as Michigan do not require certification for storage tank work.

Transportation Worker Identification Credentialing (TWIC)

Several EMS field personnel are credentialed through the Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC) program. This program is a Transportation Security Administration and U.S. Coast Guard security threat assessment initiative that provides a tamper-resistant biometric credential to maritime workers requiring unescorted access to secure areas regulated under the Maritime Transportation Security Act of 2002.